DANNY INGS IN! – FPL GW14 Update.

70 points last week but a terrible return from Willems and an unlucky Maddison disallowed goal did leave me wanting more. Of course I will always take the green arrow in OR and I will always take being 21 points above average.

This week, though, there were some tricky decisions to make. As a Saints fan, I’m looking at our next 4/5 fixtures with eyes wide and mouth watering, and we take on Watford on Saturday and hopefully I will not regret the decision I’ve made in regards to striker options.

Also, I’ve decided to sell VVD. Liverpool do not keep many clean sheets at all whereas other teams do, and Virgil himself very rarely gets any kind of goal contribution and I’m struggling to remember the last time I didn’t regret having him in. I’ve replaced him with someone who might not make a lot of sense to anybody due to him being injured, but I’ve bought Ben Davies. I can’t shake the feeling that Mourinho is going to allow Davies, when fit, to get more gametime and his position might cater towards assists for Kane and also the fact he’s a defender in a Jose system makes it incredibly likely to most that his clean sheets will skyrocket in future weeks. He’ll be benched this week though as he’s out.

This is the team then. Will be no more changes unless something drastic happens.

I still think Gazzaniga is a really good keeper and with him facing out of form Bournemouth I think he has more chance of a CS than Henderson who’s facing Raul Jiminez who is 95% likely to net in every single game he plays.

Back line is controversial. Soyuncu will never be taken out of my team (apart from injuries and suspensions) all season because Leicester’s defensive record is phenmomenal and Kaspar has the most clean sheets out of anybody partly due to their defensive quality. Dunk may be facing Liverpool but I’d rather him over Willems and I wasn’t willing to take another hit to sell him – I may well regret selling VVD as the timing turned out to be all wrong.

And, of course, Lord Lundy.

KDB should run rings around Newcastle’s midfield and they’re most likely going to score for fun at St James’ but that wasn’t enough for me to make him captain.

Mane is also a decent captain option but with the way Liverpool have played of late I can’t see him outscoring Jamie Vardy.

Maddison is always good to have in the midfield as he’s always up for a Free Kick goal and assists come in decent numbers to him. I almost dropped him but I do think that Leicester will smash Everton this weekend.

Djenepo is back in the starting XI for the next few games. Hopefully he can net another solo goal like the one at Bramall Lane or even a tap in – I don’t mind. Come on Moussa!

Aubameyang might well improve even more with the departure of Emery this morning but he’s someone I also could shift out with Harry Kane waiting in the wings.

Vardy is my choice of captain as I can see him scoring at least two and putting Marco Silva out of a job.

And finally, Ings. Bought him this week due to Southampton’s next five – Watford H, Norwich H, Newcastle A, West Ham H and Villa A. He could genuinely score in all five of those if he keeps this season’s form up and carries us to a couple of victories and a decent amount of points. Wishful thinking? Maybe.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started